Choosing a prenatal calcium supplement is less about picking the largest number on the label and more about matching the dose and ingredients to your prenatal vitamin, diet, and clinician’s advice. I put Fairhaven Health Calcium & Magnesium first for shoppers who want a moderate calcium serving paired with magnesium, while NatureWise Calcium + Vitamin D3 is the higher-dose option for people whose care team has recommended more calcium and vitamin D.
Turn the school run and nap time into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
The main tradeoff is straightforward: Fairhaven offers 500 mg of calcium plus 200 mg of magnesium, but its vitamin D amount is unspecified and the daily capsule count may be inconvenient. NatureWise lists 1,250 mg of calcium and 1,000 IU of vitamin D3 in softgels, but that calcium amount may be more than some people need, and its coconut-derived MCT oil is a concern for people with tree-nut allergies. Neither product is a complete prenatal vitamin, and neither should replace individualized guidance about total daily calcium intake.
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- I rank Fairhaven first for its more moderate 500 mg calcium serving and added 200 mg magnesium, which can be easier to fit alongside other prenatal nutrients.
- NatureWise is the clear choice between these two when a clinician has advised a higher calcium dose and a listed 1,000 IU of vitamin D3.
- The NatureWise label lists 1,250 mg of calcium; check whether that amount is intended per serving and how it fits with food and other supplements before taking it.
- Fairhaven’s vitamin D amount is not specified in the supplied product details, so I would not count it as a predictable source of vitamin D.
- Neither formula is right for every pregnancy: review total intake, allergies, and supplement overlap with your prenatal care professional.
| Fairhaven Health Calcium & Magnesium, 60 Capsules | ![]() | Best Overall for a More Flexible Prenatal Routine | Calcium per serving: 500 mg | Magnesium per serving: 200 mg | Vitamin D: Included; amount not specified in supplied details | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NatureWise Calcium + Vitamin D3 Softgels, 1250mg Calcium, 1000IU Vitamin D3, Organic MCT Oil, 60 Softgels | ![]() | Best High-Dose Option When Specifically Recommended | Calcium content: 1,250 mg, as stated in product details | Calcium form: Calcium carbonate | Vitamin D3: 1,000 IU | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| prenatal calcium supplement | Calcium per serving | Magnesium per serving | Vitamin D | Mineral forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fairhaven Health Calcium & Mag | 500 mg | 200 mg | Included; amount not specified in supplied details | Two forms each of calcium and magnesium |
| NatureWise Calcium + Vitamin D | — | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Fairhaven Health Calcium & Magnesium, 60 Capsules
I rank Fairhaven Health Calcium & Magnesium first because its stated 500 mg calcium and 200 mg magnesium per serving make it the more moderate, combination-focused pick in this pair. For someone already taking a prenatal multivitamin, that format may be easier to discuss as an addition than NatureWise’s listed 1,250 mg calcium amount. The product also includes vitamin D, but the supplied information does not give a quantity, so I would not rely on it to fill a specific vitamin D target.
The two forms of calcium and magnesium are presented as an absorption-focused feature, and the vegetarian, allergen-free formulation may suit people avoiding dairy, wheat, soy, gluten, yeast, artificial preservatives, or flavors. That gives Fairhaven a broader dietary fit than NatureWise, which contains coconut-derived MCT oil and halal gelatin. The listing also reports NSF-certified manufacturing facilities and third-party testing; those details may reassure label-conscious shoppers, but they do not make it a prenatal multivitamin or establish that this is the right dose for every pregnancy.
The main compromise is day-to-day convenience. The product has 60 capsules, and its listed dosage requires multiple capsules daily, so I would check the serving directions before deciding whether the bottle fits a routine. Compared with NatureWise, Fairhaven has a lower stated calcium amount and adds magnesium, but its vitamin D quantity is less transparent. I would choose it as a flexible mineral supplement only after comparing it with the calcium and magnesium already present in food and other supplements.
Pros:- Provides 500 mg calcium and 200 mg magnesium per serving.
- Includes two forms of both minerals and vitamin D.
- Vegetarian and free of several common allergens and artificial flavors or preservatives, according to the supplied details.
- Manufactured in NSF-certified facilities; the listing also reports third-party testing.
Cons:- Multiple capsules are required daily, which may make the routine less convenient.
- The amount of vitamin D is not specified in the supplied label details.
- Added magnesium may duplicate nutrients in a prenatal vitamin or another supplement.
Best for: Pregnant shoppers whose clinician has recommended a moderate calcium supplement with added magnesium and who prefer a vegetarian, broadly allergen-free capsule formula.
Not ideal for: People who need a clearly quantified vitamin D dose, dislike taking multiple capsules, or want a product that supplies calcium alone without added magnesium.
- Calcium per serving:500 mg
- Magnesium per serving:200 mg
- Vitamin D:Included; amount not specified in supplied details
- Mineral forms:Two forms each of calcium and magnesium
- Capsule count:60
- Dietary format:Vegetarian
- Allergen details:Listed as free from yeast, wheat, soy, dairy, and gluten
- Other formulation notes:No artificial preservatives or flavors, per supplied details
Our verdict“I would pick Fairhaven for a more moderate calcium-and-magnesium addition, provided its capsule schedule and unspecified vitamin D amount fit the clinician-approved plan.”
NatureWise Calcium + Vitamin D3 Softgels, 1250mg Calcium, 1000IU Vitamin D3, Organic MCT Oil, 60 Softgels
NatureWise Calcium + Vitamin D3 is the more dose-forward option: its supplied product details list 1,250 mg calcium and 1,000 IU vitamin D3. The fixed, clearly stated vitamin D3 amount is an advantage over Fairhaven’s unspecified vitamin D quantity. But I would not treat the higher calcium figure as an automatic benefit. For prenatal use, the relevant question is whether that amount fits the person’s full daily intake and care plan, not whether it exceeds the other product’s serving amount.
This formula uses calcium carbonate and includes organic MCT oil, which the brand describes as an absorption aid. It comes as softgels, so shoppers who prefer that format may find it more appealing than Fairhaven’s capsules. The listing also describes the product as non-GMO and gluten-free, with halal gelatin, and reports third-party testing and U.S. manufacturing. Those attributes may matter for ingredient or sourcing preferences, but the softgel contains coconut oil, listed as a tree-nut allergen, so it is a poor fit for people with coconut allergies or a need to avoid that ingredient.
Compared with Fairhaven, NatureWise offers a more defined calcium-and-D3 profile but does not include magnesium in the supplied formulation details. Its listed calcium amount is also substantially higher, which narrows its best use case to people whose clinician has specifically advised that level after reviewing their diet and other supplements. I would check the full Supplement Facts panel for serving size and directions: the product title gives the amounts, but those details should be confirmed before planning a daily routine.
Pros:- Lists 1,250 mg calcium and 1,000 IU vitamin D3.
- Softgel format with organic MCT oil, which the product describes as an absorption aid.
- Listed as non-GMO and gluten-free, with halal gelatin.
- The product listing reports third-party testing and U.S. manufacturing.
Cons:- The listed calcium amount may exceed what some people need from a separate supplement.
- Contains coconut-derived MCT oil, identified in the supplied details as a tree-nut allergen.
- No magnesium is listed in the supplied formulation details.
Best for: People whose prenatal care professional has recommended a higher calcium intake and a defined vitamin D3 amount, and who are comfortable with softgels and coconut-derived ingredients.
Not ideal for: Anyone with a coconut allergy, someone seeking a lower or more adjustable calcium addition, or a shopper who wants magnesium included in the same formula.
- Calcium content:1,250 mg, as stated in product details
- Calcium form:Calcium carbonate
- Vitamin D3:1,000 IU
- Dosage form:Softgels
- Softgel count:60
- Added oil:Organic MCT oil
- Dietary features:Non-GMO, gluten-free, halal gelatin
- Allergen note:Contains coconut oil; supplied details identify tree-nut allergen concern
Our verdict“I would reserve NatureWise for a clinician-directed higher-calcium plan, especially when its defined D3 amount and softgel format suit the buyer.”

How We Picked
I compared these products as calcium supplements for pregnancy, not as substitutes for prenatal care or complete prenatal multivitamins. My ranking puts label clarity, dose flexibility, and fit with a broader prenatal routine ahead of sheer potency. A larger calcium amount is not automatically a better choice: total intake can include food, a prenatal multivitamin, and separate supplements, so the right amount depends on the individual plan.
I also looked at what accompanies the calcium. Fairhaven pairs it with magnesium and includes vitamin D, although the provided details do not state the vitamin D amount. NatureWise gives a specific vitamin D3 amount and uses softgels with organic MCT oil, but it lists a much higher calcium content and identifies coconut oil as an allergen concern. I treated claims such as “enhanced absorption” as product features rather than proof that one formula works better for every person.
Finally, I weighed practical fit: dosage form, dietary restrictions, ingredient transparency, and potential duplication with other supplements. The supplied information describes third-party testing and manufacturing standards for both products, but I cannot use those claims to predict an individual result. Since neither listing provides complete serving directions here, readers should confirm the full label, serving size, and clinician-approved schedule before use.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Prenatal Calcium Supplements
I would choose a prenatal calcium supplement by checking the whole daily nutrient picture first, then comparing dosage form and ingredient fit. These two products differ most in calcium amount, magnesium inclusion, and vitamin D label clarity, not just capsule versus softgel.
Start with total calcium, not the supplement number alone
Calcium can come from food, a prenatal multivitamin, and a separate supplement. The NatureWise listing gives a much higher calcium figure than Fairhaven, but that does not make it the better prenatal choice by default. I would add up the relevant sources with a prenatal care professional and ask whether a separate supplement is needed. Also check the serving size and full Supplement Facts panel: product titles and summaries may not answer every dosing question.
Fairhaven’s 500 mg per serving may offer a more moderate addition, while NatureWise’s listed 1,250 mg may suit a narrower, specifically advised plan. Calcium needs vary by person and can be affected by diet, age, health history, and other supplements. I would not change a clinician-directed plan based only on a product comparison.
Compare vitamin D and magnesium separately
Fairhaven includes vitamin D but the supplied details do not specify how much. That makes it harder to count toward a planned daily amount without checking the actual label. NatureWise lists 1,000 IU of vitamin D3, offering clearer quantity information, although the amount still needs to be considered alongside any prenatal vitamin or separate D supplement.
Magnesium is another distinction: Fairhaven supplies 200 mg per serving, while the NatureWise information does not list magnesium. That combination may appeal to shoppers who want both minerals in one product, but it can also create overlap with another supplement. I would compare each nutrient against the full routine rather than assuming that more ingredients are always useful.
Choose a form and ingredient profile you can use consistently
Fairhaven uses capsules and requires multiple capsules daily, according to the supplied information. NatureWise is a softgel, which some people may prefer, but its coconut-derived MCT oil is a clear reason to skip it for anyone with a relevant allergy or avoidance requirement. Fairhaven is described as vegetarian and free from several common allergens, though buyers should verify the current package label for their specific sensitivities.
Consider swallowing comfort, daily pill count, and any dietary restrictions before settling on a product. A supplement that does not fit the routine or conflicts with an allergy is not a practical choice, regardless of its nutrient profile.
Treat testing and absorption claims as supporting details
Both listings report quality-related features: Fairhaven describes NSF-certified manufacturing facilities and third-party testing, while NatureWise reports third-party testing and U.S. manufacturing. I count these as useful product information, not proof that a supplement is appropriate for a particular pregnancy or absorbed better in every person.
Fairhaven highlights multiple forms of calcium and magnesium; NatureWise includes MCT oil and describes it as supporting absorption. Those are formulation differences, but they do not replace checking dose, label directions, allergies, and advice from a qualified prenatal care professional.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I take a calcium supplement with my prenatal vitamin?
That may be appropriate, but I would first compare the calcium and other nutrients in the prenatal vitamin with the separate supplement and discuss the combined plan with a prenatal care professional. Fairhaven adds magnesium as well as calcium, while NatureWise lists a high calcium amount and vitamin D3, so either could duplicate nutrients already in the routine. Follow the full product directions and any guidance from your care team.
Which of these products has the lower listed calcium amount?
Fairhaven lists 500 mg of calcium per serving, compared with NatureWise’s stated 1,250 mg calcium content. The figures make Fairhaven the lower-calcium option in this comparison, but serving size and the complete label should be checked before use. A lower amount is not automatically right for everyone; the intended total should account for diet and other supplements.
Which product gives a clearly stated vitamin D amount?
NatureWise lists 1,000 IU of vitamin D3. Fairhaven is described as including vitamin D, but the supplied product details do not state the amount. If a defined vitamin D dose matters to your plan, verify the current label and review the total with your prenatal care professional rather than inferring a quantity from the ingredient description.
Is NatureWise suitable for someone with a coconut allergy?
The supplied details say NatureWise contains coconut-derived MCT oil and identify coconut oil as an allergen concern. I would not recommend choosing it for someone with a coconut allergy without direct guidance from their clinician and confirmation from the manufacturer about the current ingredients and allergy controls. Fairhaven is described as free from several common allergens, but anyone with a serious allergy should still verify the package and manufacturing information.
Can I use either product instead of a prenatal multivitamin?
No. These are calcium-focused supplements, and neither product description presents it as a complete prenatal multivitamin. Their roles differ: Fairhaven combines calcium and magnesium, while NatureWise pairs calcium with vitamin D3. Ask your prenatal care professional which nutrients you need and whether either product fits alongside a complete prenatal plan.
Conclusion
For a moderate calcium addition with magnesium and a vegetarian, broadly allergen-free formula, I would start with Fairhaven, while checking its multiple-capsule directions and the vitamin D amount on the current label. For someone whose clinician has recommended a higher calcium dose with a stated vitamin D3 amount, NatureWise is the more targeted match—provided coconut-derived ingredients are acceptable and the dose fits the full daily plan.
If you are unsure how much calcium you already get from food or a prenatal vitamin, I would pause before adding either product and ask your prenatal care professional to review the total. That step matters more than choosing the higher number: these products serve different needs, and the best fit depends on your individual plan, dietary intake, and allergies.





